Mauricio Kagel

A Breeze. Transient Action for 111 Cyclists

February 23, 2017 - 8:00 p.m.
Registration method: call for participants
Doctor Fourquet Street
the Parallel Programme Argentina, Guest Country at ARCOMadrid 2017
Sonia Becce
A Breeze. Transient Action for 111 Cyclists
A Breeze. Transient Action for 111 Cyclists

Within the framework of the parallel programming in relation to Argentina as Guest Country at ARCOMadrid 2017, the Museo Reina Sofía presents the intervention Eine Brise. Flüchtige Aktion für 111 Radfahrer (A Breeze. Transient Action for 111 Cyclists). Conceived in 1996 by the German-Argentinian composer Mauricio Kagel, the piece puts forth a public intervention of conceptual music which will, on this occasion, take place in the areas surrounding the Museo Reina Sofía. With a pronounced career in the field of instrumental theatre, Kagel alluded to this piece by saying: “Given that music is an art which is capable of mobilising those with a profound love for it, participants in this fleeting event rush to peddle hard so they can quickly reach a new concert hall that was promised to them some time ago”.

The piece will be directed by the composer Fabián Panisello, whereby 111 cyclists will fill the streets of Madrid with music by using their voices and the bells and horns on their bikes.

Mauricio Kagel. An Argentinian composer, orchestra and stage designer who is considered among the most innovative and interesting post-serial and electronic music artists in the latter part of the 20th century. His avant-garde work bears a direct relation to instrumental theatre, using a kind of Neo-Dadaist language with electroacoustic material and exploring the dramatic resources of musical language, from films to radiophonic pieces. His major works include Sur Scéne (1959), Le Bruit (1960), Mare Nostrum (1975), Szenario. Music for “Un chien andalou” (1983) and Eine Brise. Flüchtige Aktion für 111 Radfahrer (1996), among others.